2020 Pritzker Prize: Yvonne Farrel and Shelley McNamara

We recall that on March 3rd, the Irish duo Yvonne Farrell (1951) and Shelley McNamara (1952) co-founders and directors of the Dublin-based architectural practice Grafton Architects, have been awarded with the 2020 Pritzker prize laureate.

This year's jury described Farrell and McNamara as "pioneers in a field that has traditionally been and still is a male-dominated profession" and "beacons to others as they forge their exemplary professional path".

Cf. https://www.pritzkerprize.com/laureates/2020

Previously on October 2019, this women's duo was also named as the recipient of the 2020 Royal Gold Medal, the UK’s highest honour for architecture given by the Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA). Yvonne Farrell and Shelley McNamara are the first all-woman pair receiving the Royal Gold Medal in the history - they are the fourth and fifth female architects receiving this prestigious prize in a partnership position.

In 2018, they have been appointed by the Board of La Biennale di Venezia, as curators of the 16th International Architecture Exhibition in 2018. This marks the second time that the Venice Architecture Biennale will be directed by women, after Kazuyo Sejima's role as director for the 2010 Biennale.

Additionally, in 2015 Grafton Architects' co-founders were jointly awarded with the fourth annual Jane Drew Award.

The “hardworking” Dublin-based duo impressed the jury, which included Norman Foster and Patty Hopkins, for not being “afraid to speak in a language that is feminine” yet “produce buildings which are robust and full of conviction.”


See also: http://www.graftonarchitects.ie/

Maria Helena Souto and Alexandre Cunha